The Body Shop Nail Event – 01.10.14

Wednesday was proving to be a bit of a spendy evening. I received an email to go along to The Body Shop in The Hague and attend their nail event in celebration of their new nail varnish range being released.

I cheered at the thought of an excuse to go into the city for a couple of hours in the evening, being a mum to a 10 month old, it’s not something I can do very often.

The actual location of The Body Shop in The Hague (or Den Haag if you’re Dutch!) is in a beautiful covered walkway of shops called ‘The Passage’. I always enjoy walking through The Passage as it actually reminds me a lot of London.

InsidePassage

I didn’t take any pictures whilst I was in the shop as there weren’t many people there at all, I thought there would be more, and I felt a bit awkward to say the least…

They were offering hand and nail treatments and obviously had testers of all the new nail varnishes (which you don’t normally get in normal stores.. if any?)

I spent A LOT of time walking around in here deciding what to buy as they were giving a goodie bag worth €38 if you spent €35. Now I ended up spending a lot more than that as I can never seem to calculate in my head the deals they have and some of the things I picked up were new so naturally weren’t included in the amount required to spend to get the goodie bag…

Here’s what I came back with (including the bonus items)

DSC_3988

I’ve broken it down into categories to make it easier 🙂

 Makeup

DSC_3994

I obviously had to pick up a couple of the new nail varnishes as it was an event in respect of the launch!
First off I picked up a lovely teal-blue colour called ‘Minty Amour’ – I was drawn to this colour immediately. It’s one of my favourite colours and I tested it on my nails and it was gorgeous. I wouldn’t say it was very minty though.. I would’ve definitely have chosen a different name.
I then homed in on a slate-grey colour called ‘Big Smoke’ which I thought would be great for Autumn/Winter or just an evening in general.

I then picked up their All-in-One ‘InstaBlur’ face primer as I have heard a lot of good mentions of this product.

‘This all-new face perfector blurs imperfections, giving you flawless photo-perfect skin in an instant! With Community Fair Trade marula oil.’

I then picked up an All-in-One BB Cream in the shade 00 for fair skin tones. Now I wouldn’t say I have fair skin but this BB cream adapts to the colour of your skin and it was a perfect match for me.

I also picked up their All-in-One concealer in the lightest shade because you can never try enough high coverage concealers right? Us mum’s with young kiddies have dark circles to hide! The high coverage part screamed out to me so I thought I would try it.

Lastly I picked up an All-in-One blush in the shade 01 Macaroon and it’s a perfect peach colour. Very similar in colour to Benefit’s new launch Majorette.

I didn’t realise until now that all the face products I purchased were from their All-in-One range… lets hope its good!

 Shower Gel

DSC_3990

Now I do love a good Body Shop shower gel, I love the consistency and they always smell incredible.

I picked up the Vineyard Peach and Papaya for myself and the Chocomania for Mike.

Hand Cream

DSC_3995

My hands have started getting very dry as I wash them a lot with Finn, i’ve actually become a bit OCD and must wash them about 20+ times a day, I just don’t want him getting any germs – is that bad?
Washing them that much means the moisture is being drawn out of my skin thus me now suffering from dry skin on my hands!

I picked up the Satsuma hand cream as it smelled absolutely divine!

‘Accessories’

DSC_3992

On the subject of my dry hands.. I picked up some of their cotton moisture boosting gloves. I have started covering my hands in a good hand cream and putting these gloves on overnight as an intensive hand treatment.

I also picked up the Facial Buffer sponge to test it out.

The Bonus Items

DSC_3989

 

I actually think this was quite a generous free gift with your purchase.

In the goody bag you received:

  1. Brazil Nut body mist – have to say it’s a bit of a headache scent for me, but I am sure I can find a good home for it
  2. Cocoa Butter body scrub – this smells lovely and I can’t wait to use it once I have finished with my Raspberry one!
  3. Camomile Gentle eye make-up remover – this is a perfect size to test out on my sensitive skin, and also great for me to take on my upcoming trip to England!
  4. Absinthe purifying hand cream – i’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a bit dubious about how this would smell. My memories of absinthe are people getting very drunk in Moulin Rouge.. But this smells absolutely incredible!

So as a result of that evening, I definitely spent too much money, but I did only buy items that I will use. I also have a number of new and nice sounding/looking products to do some reviews on so keep your eyes peeled for the near future 🙂

Have you tried any of the body shop’s new nail varnishes? What did you think of them? I’d love to know what you think!

 

 

 

Disclaimer: The top photo in this blog post was taken from the site: justaplanerideaway.com – All other photos included in this post were taken and edited by me.

One thought on “The Body Shop Nail Event – 01.10.14

Leave a comment